Above Nav Container

Utility Container

Search Trigger (Container)

Button (Container)

Mobile Menu Trigger (container)

Off Canvas Navigation Container

Close Trigger (container)


Board of Trustees

The school is a non-profit organization in the form of an association under Belgian law. The association is composed of prominent Belgians and the dedicated AIS Board of Trustees.

The Board of Trustees is a self-perpetuating body whose members are approved by the Association at its annual meeting in October. The group is financially and legally responsible for the school and for determining major policies that constantly strive to improve the quality of education for its students. The Head of School serves as an ex-officio member of the Board of Trustees.

Board Members 2016 - 2017

Andrew Kris, President

  • British
  • Founding partner of Borderless, a leading executive search firm for the global chemical industry and the life sciences sector
  • Commentator and Board advisor on business transformation, shared services and business process outsourcing
  • Joined the AIS Board in 2015

Philippe Demoulin, Vice President

  • Belgian
  • Studied Management at KU Leuven and International Relations at John Hopkins University in Bologna
  • General manager of the Havencentrum, the visitors center of the port of Antwerp
  • Joined the AIS Board in 2015

Rob Harrison, Treasurer

  • South African
  • Has a Masters in Finance and Accounting from University of Witwatersrand in Johannesburg South Africa and is a Chartered Accountant
  • CEO of DP World Antwerp Holdings
  • Has held numerous board mandates
  • Joined the Board in 2015

Martin Leake, Secretary

  • Born in Malawi
  • PhD (Portsmouth) geologist
  • Has worked and lived in West Africa, South America, North America and Australia
  • Senior Diamond Executive
  • Joined the AIS Board in 2014

Markus Brueggemann

  • German
  • Works at BASF in Antwerp as Technology Manager in the Petrochemicals Division
  • Received his PhD from Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
  • Joined the AIS Board in 2016

Magda Honffy-Van Damme

  • Dutch/Hungarian
  • Involved with AIS since 2003 as a PTO Executive Board Member and a member of the International Day Steering Committee, later as a Board Member and Vice-Chair of the Marketing Committee, AIS Marketing Manager (2007-2011), and Admissions Officer (2009-2011)
  • Joined the Board in 2011

Claude Marinower

  • Belgian
  • Law Degree from Brussels Free University
  • Representative to Parliament 2003-2007
  • Alderman of Education and Legal Issues for Antwerp since 2013
  • Joined the AIS Board in 2013

Sachiv Mehta

  • Indian
  • AIS Alumnus
  • Studied Management at King's College London, and then moved to Dubai to set up a diamond trading office
  • Moved back to Belgium in 2003 to work in the family business
  • Joined the AIS Board in 2015

Anish Suri

  • American
  • Works for Janssen Research & Development, LLC in the area of Immunology Therapeutic Area (TA)
  • Former Assistant Professor of Pathology and Immunology at Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis in the United States.
  • Joined the AIS Board in 2016

Herman van Hoeve

  • Dutch
  • Master of Science degree from University of Delft
  • International career with Dow Chemical for more than 20 years
  • Currently Director of Technology for Arizona Chemical BV in Amsterdam
  • Joined the AIS Board in 2012

Karin van Leeuwen

  • Dutch
  • Had a career in journalism and marketing & advertisement for 15 years, and then moved on to freelance and voluntary work, and interior design
  • Board member of Willem-Alexander Kinderfonds
  • Joined the AIS Board in 2015

Janneke Dreesmann

  • Belgian
  • Has a Master degree in Law from the University of Amsterdam
  • Holds numerous board mandates (Cancer Centre Amsterdam, Human Rights Watch, Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam,...)
  • Joined the AIS Board in September 2016

Jan Damhof

  • Dutch
  • Works at Dow Chemical as EMEAI Operations Integration Director
  • Has a Master degree in Chemical Engineering from Twente University of Technology
  • Has held numerous board mandates
  • Joined the Board in December 2016

Powered by Finalsite